Posted on: September 8th, 2015


Name: Stacey Phoenix

Job title: Solicitor at Cygnet Law in Redcar, specialising in family law

Do you remember your interview?

Yes I remember it very well as it was in March this year. It wasn’t a formal interview as such as I was approached by the firm. It’s been a very exciting career move as the two firms I worked for before were smaller and Cygnet is a larger firm with a diverse client list. I still work in the family law department, but now the focus is more on children care work.

Why did you choose this job/career?

I’ve always been a people person and I knew I wanted to work with people from an early stage. In this job, I meet so many diverse groups of people from clients and social workers to other solicitors. I love being able to help people.

My day goes like this

A typical day involves getting in at 8am and doing diary and email checks.

Then the day is taken up with appointments and drafting documents or being in court. Most days are spent in court.

4 pm – 4.30pm – I try to get back to the office to check the diary and emails.

6pm – I try to leave the office by this time. My commute is very short as I live in Redcar.

Dress code

It’s smart and professional suits, especially in court. In court, the rules are that legs and arms must be covered, so that means wearing tights, even in the hot weather.

What’s the favourite part of your job?

The favourite part has got to be interacting with people and helping them. There is also something very satisfying about seeing a case through from start to finish and seeing its impact, especially in children’s cases.

 What is the least favourite part of your job?

The least favourite part has got to be the amount of paperwork we have to do. We have to do a lot of pro bono work these days and that involves helping clients who can’t get funding. The funding process can be especially frustrating, particularly now following the changes to Legal Aid.

 What would be your dream job be if you weren’t doing what you do now

My dream job would be working outdoors with animals. I have two dogs – a Border Collie and a Labrador Cross – and I’d love to be surrounded by animals. I’d have wanted to work in conservation, maybe for the RSPB.

 How do you relax when you are not working?

I try to get outdoors in my free time, walking the dogs and also taking photos of nature and wildlife. I have a wildlife blog which is made up of my photography and articles on nature. I also love spending time with my family. 

Talk to the experts

If you require any of our legal services or you're not sure where to get started, please contact us at our Redcar High Street office and our solicitors will guide you every step of the way.

Contact Cygnet graphic